Whitley Bay High School

Students benefit from the wealth of extra curricular opportunities on offer

School Day and Term Dates

Please see below for all important key school dates and events.

From September 2020, we will be temporarily following a new school day as outlined in previous letters to parents. The details are included below:

Students in Year 11 will have additional catch up sessions in their core lessons during Tuesday period 5.

Wednesday and Thursday between 2pm and 3pm will also become Year 13 and Year 11 option subject catch up. 

Students in Year 12 will have tutorial time on a Thursday between 2pm and 2.30pm.

Students in Year 13 will have tutorial time on a Wednesday and Thursday between 2pm and 2.20pm.

The school day will return to normal as soon as we are able to. Details of our usual school day are outlined below.

The School Day:

Monday, Tuesday, 
Thursday, Friday

Wednesday

Timetable

8:55 - 9:10

8:55 - 9:25

Assembly or Tutorial

9:10 - 10:10

9:25 - 10:20

Lesson 1

10:10 - 11:10

10:20 - 11:15

Lesson 2

11:10 - 11:25

11:15 - 11:30

Morning Break

11:25 - 12:25

11:30 - 12:25

Lesson 3

12:25 - 1:15

12:25 - 1:15

Lunch Break

1:15 - 2:15*

1:15 - 2:15

Lesson 4

2:15 - 3:15

2:15 - 3:15

Lesson 5

* Students leave school at the end of Lesson 4 on Tuesday

Term Dates 2020-2021


September 2020

Thursday 3rd September 2020

School starts for students

Half Term - Monday 26th October 2020 – Friday 30th October 2020
December 2020

Friday 18th December 2020

Last day of term for students

Christmas Holidays - Monday 21st December 2020 to Friday 1st January 2021
January 2021

Monday 4th January 2021

School starts for students

Half Term - Monday 15th February  2021 – Friday 19th February 2021
March 2021

Friday 26th March 2021

Last day of term for students

Easter Holidays - Monday 29th March 2021 to Friday 9th April 2021
April 2021

Monday 12th April 2021

School starts for students

Half Term - Monday 31st May 2021 to Friday 4th June 2021
July 2021

Friday 2nd July 2021

Staff Training Day

July 2021

Friday 16th July 2021

Last day of School Year for students

Term Dates 2021-2022


September 2021

Friday 3rd September 2021

School starts for students

Half Term - Monday 25th October 2021 – Friday 29th October 2021
December 2021

Friday 17th December 2021

Last day of term for students

Christmas Holidays - Monday 20th December 2021 to Monday 3rd January 2022
January 2022

Tuesday 4th January 2022

School starts for students

Half Term - Monday 21st February  2022 – Friday 25th February 2022
April 2022

Friday 8th April 2022

Last day of term for students

Easter Holidays - Monday 11th April 2022 to Friday 22nd April 2022
April 2022

Monday 25th April 2021

School starts for students

Half Term - Monday 30th May 2022 to Friday 3rd June 2022
July 2022

Friday 1st July 2022

Staff Training Day

July 2022

Thursday 21st July 2022

Last day of School Year for students


  • The School Calendar 2020-2021 will be uploaded as soon as possible. Download
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.