Whitley Bay High School

Students benefit from the wealth of extra curricular opportunities on offer

School Day and Term Dates

Please see below for all important key school dates and events.

The School Day:

Monday, Tuesday, 
Thursday, Friday

Wednesday

Timetable

8:55 - 9:10

8:55 - 9:25

Assembly or Tutorial

9:10 - 10:10

9:25 - 10:20

Lesson 1

10:10 - 11:10

10:20 - 11:15

Lesson 2

11:10 - 11:25

11:15 - 11:30

Morning Break

11:25 - 12:25

11:30 - 12:25

Lesson 3

12:25 - 1:15

12:25 - 1:15

Lunch Break

1:15 - 2:15*

1:15 - 2:15

Lesson 4

2:15 - 3:15

2:15 - 3:15

Lesson 5

* Students leave school at the end of Lesson 4 on Tuesday

The total time the school is in compulsory operation is 30 hours and 40 minutes. Additional to this, our extensive extracurricular programme operates before school, during school and after school every day.

Term Dates 2022-2023

September 2022

Monday 5th September 2022

Staff training day


Tuesday 6th September 2022
Staff training day

Wednesday 7th September 2022
School starts for students
Half Term - Monday 24th October 2022 – Friday 28th October 2022
December 2022

Friday 23rd December 2022

Last day of term for students

January 2023

Monday 9th January 2023

School starts for students

Half Term - Monday 20th February  2023 – Friday 24th February 2023
March 2023

Friday 31st March 2023

Last day of term for students

April 2023

Monday 17th April 2023

School starts for students

Half Term - Monday 29th May 2023 to Friday 2nd June 2023
July 2023

Friday 7th July 2023

Staff Training Day

July 2023

Friday 21st July 2023

Last day of School Year for students

Term Dates 2023-2024

September 2023

Monday 4th September 2023

Staff training day


Tuesday 5th September 2023
Staff training day

Wednesday 6th September 2023
School starts for students
Half Term - Monday 30th October 2023 – Friday 3rd November 2023
December 2023

Friday 22nd December 2023

Last day of term for students

January 2024

Monday 8th January 2024

School starts for students

Half Term - Monday 19th February  2024 – Friday 23rd February 2024
March 2024

Thursday 29th March 2024

Last day of term for students

April 2024

Monday 15th April 2024

School starts for students

Half Term - Monday 27th May 2024 to Friday 31st May 2024
July 2024

Friday 5th July 2024

*Provisional Staff Training Day TBC

July 2024

Friday 19th July 2024

Last day of School Year for students

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.